• (+1) 531-375-1288
  • sales@blacksagearms.com

FAQ

section-f9b9595

FAQ

• You must be 21 or older to purchase firearms from Black Sage Arms LLC. (Why 21? Because we cannot keep up with all the stupid state and municipal laws being passed by gun-grabbers.) • You must comply with Federal, State, and Local Laws at the time of order and transfer of ownership. • Federal Law mandates that guns may only be shipped to a Federal Firearms Licensed (FFL) dealer. The dealer will ensure that you are legally allowed to purchase the gun under all Federal, State, and Local Laws before completing the gun transfer. Most dealers charge a fee for this service, so expect fees anywhere from $10 or more. • In order to purchase your gun and have us ship to your chosen FFL dealer, you must complete the following steps listed below before we can process your order. Failure to complete these steps will cause a delay in the shipping of your order or having your order canceled and a restocking fee applied. o PICK YOUR GUN! (If your order also contains non-gun items, those items will ship directly to you.) o You are to provide us with your FFL dealer near you that will accept and perform your transfer. We only ship to FFL dealers provided by you, the client. o CONTACT FFL DEALER, let them know that you are purchasing a firearm and that they need to contact sales@blacksagearms.com with their name, address, a copy of their FFL, a copy of any state or local licenses and the order number. An example would be a dealer in California: California dealers must also include their CA firearms dealer (CFD) number on their license. Once we have that, we can move forward with shipping your firearm. Failure to do so will result in a refund less 10% for restocking fee and your firearm order canceled. You have 10 business days to complete this. o Black Sage Arms LLC will then validate the FFL to make sure that it is legitimate. • We have included shipping in price of all firearms as they require signatures from your FFL. Your firearm will ship directly to your selected FFL Dealer via Ground shipping and will require their signature. • PICK UP YOUR GUN AT YOUR SELECTED FFL DEALER o Work with your selected FFL dealer to arrange your gun transfer. At the time of pick up, you will need to arrive with all proper identification and documentation/licenses to show that you can legally purchase and possess the gun. o The FFL Dealer will complete a background screening using the National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS) as required. Should you fail your background check, your firearm should be returned to Black Sage Arms LLC by your FFL. There will then be the 10% restocking fee applied against your refund as well as another $35 to cover shipping from your FFL back to Black Sage Arms LLC as they now must repackage the firearm and ship it out. Black Sage Arms LLC will then remit a payment to the FFL to cover their fees. o You should work with your FFL dealer and closely inspect the gun and verify the make, model, caliber/gauge, and condition matches with what you ordered before any paperwork is filled out. If there are any issues with the gun do NOT complete the transfer paperwork, please contact Black Sage Arms LLC at sales@blacksagearms.com • Once the firearm is transferred through your selected FFL dealer, returns are no longer accepted.
Each dealer is different. Black Sage Arms LLC charges a $30 fee for transfers and if a NICS background check is required, we charge an additional $10. Active Military and Veterans will receive a $5 discount on transfers, however not on the NICS check. We also offer a multi-firearm discount on transfers. Some dealers charge as little as $10 and we have seen in excess of $50 per transfer.
You need to put the address that you currently reside at. Remember, your 4473 paperwork for the transfer needs to be current. If the address on the license is not the address you currently live at or is different on the 4473, you may run into issues with your FFL doing the transfer.
NO. It is against the law to ship ammunition with a firearm. Ammunition will be shipped either directly to your address, or to your FFL in another package.
Online gun stores usually have better prices than your local gun stores will. Typically, there is less overhead for the gun store online to deal with. Most online gun stores have better selections than a local shop because again, there is less overhead.
Reach out to sales@blacksagearms.com. If there is a problem with how the product was shipped or damaged in shipping, Black Sage Arms LLC will work with you to submit a claim to the carrier. If there is a manufacturer's defect, we will work with you on getting it addressed from the manufacturer. Once a firearm has been transferred, that sale is final as it assumes that you and your FFL inspected the firearm prior to filling out and signing your 4473 paperwork.
You will have to check with your state and local laws to be sure. More than likely, your FFL will have that information for you. In the case of Nebraska, the state does not require you to have a license to own a firearm. It does make the process easier as a "buy permit" or a Concealed Carry Permit, acts as your background check. If you have neither of those a NICS check has to be performed.
“Prohibited persons” may not possess firearms or ammunition. It is also unlawful to knowingly give a prohibited person firearms or ammunition. Those restrictions seems straight-forward, but there are unique definitions and exceptions that apply. These details should be understood so that you know exactly who is a prohibited person and precisely what they are prohibited from possessing. The definition of who is a prohibited person includes many categories of people. The definition of a “prohibited person” is included below. Some of the categories, like “felons,” are simple. If someone is a felon, then they are prohibited from possessing firearms or ammunition. Other categories, however, aren’t so clear and have specific details which are included below. A “prohibited person” is anyone who [1]: is a felon, has been convicted of any crime punishable by more than a year in prison (whether or not they were ever sentenced to or served a day in prison), is under indictment for any crime punishable by more than year in prison, is a fugitive, is an unlawful user of any controlled substance, has been adjudicated as a mental defective, has been committed to a mental institution, is an illegal alien, has a dishonorable discharge from the military, has renounced their U.S. citizenship, is the subject of a restraining order restraining the person from harassing, stalking, or threatening an intimate partner or the child of an intimate partner, or who has been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence. Domestic Violence / Restraining Orders Most of the questions I receive about firearm possession by prohibited persons concern restraining orders or domestic violence charges. Unfortunately, some people have restraining orders against them even though they’ve never done anything wrong. If the restraining order is to prevent the harassment, stalking, or threatening of an intimate partner or their child, then the subject of the restraining order is a prohibited person and may not possess firearms while the restraining order is in effect. It is important to note that an “intimate partner” does not need to be from a long-term relationship. Also, if there has been any conviction based on domestic violence, then the convicted person may not posses firearms. To see a detailed definition of what is considered a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence, and exceptions to the prohibition, see the ATF’s guide on the topic Felons / Misdemeanors Punishable by Over a Year in Prison Generally, crimes punishable by over a year in prison are felonies. All felons are prohibited persons. However, there are some misdemeanors that can have a punishment over a year in prison – especially repeat offenses. This can be tricky. For example, if a person has been convicted of a misdemeanor that has a listed punishment of 1 – 14 months in prison and the person’s sentence didn’t include any jail time, then they are still a prohibited person because they were convicted of a crime that was punishable (whether or not they received the punishment) by over a year in prison. Unlawful User of a Controlled Substance With the recent legalization/de-criminalization of marijuana in some states, the use of a controlled substance part of the prohibited person definition is going to become a bigger issue. Remember, just because your state may allow you to smoke marijuana, the federal government doesn’t (yet). Use of marijuana, although not unlawful at the state level, may still make you a prohibited person. Be careful.
What To Do If You’re A Prohibited Person If you are a prohibited person, stay away from firearms for as long as you remain a prohibited person. Possession of a firearm is enough to get you into trouble – it doesn’t have to be your firearm. Also, be extremely careful near firearms even if you’re not physically holding one. Depending on the situation, having access to a nearby firearm might be enough to get you into trouble. If you want to regain your right to possess a firearm, you should contact an attorney in the state where the event happened that keeps you from possessing firearms. You may be able to overturn your status as a prohibited person. It is rare, but it can happen. [1] 18 U.S.C. § 922(g) [2] 18 U.S.C. § 921(a)(3) [3] 18 U.S.C. § 921(a)(17)(A)
section-ddd213b